MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN MASTERS WATER POLO ASSOCIATION, HELD AT KINGSPARK SWIMMING POOL, DURBAN, ON WEDNESDAY 20^{TH} MARCH 2002

IN ATTENDANCE:

AS PER THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

1. WELCOME

The Chairman, Mr Neville Clarence, welcomed all persons attending the Annual General Meeting and extended a vote of thanks to the host province for arranging the 2002 South African Masters Water Polo Championships.

2. <u>APOLOGIES/ ATTENDANCE</u>

- 2.1 No apologies were received.
- 2.2 Northern Gauteng Province being absent without having tendered apologies.
- 2.3 Attendance was as per the attendance register attached hereto.

3. <u>CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL</u> <u>MEETING DATED 21ST MARCH 2002</u>

3.1 There being no matters arising were proposed by Andrew Fisher of South West Districts and seconded by the Treasurer, Vaughn McLaren.

4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

- 4.1 As tabled, copy annexed hereto.
- 4.2 There being no matters arising acceptance was proposed by Stanley Kircher of Border and seconded by Rob Rowles of Eastern Province.

5. TREASURER'S REPORT

- 5.1 As tabled.
- 5.2 There being no matters arising acceptance was proposed by Eddie Wepener of Easterns and seconded by Paul Semple of Natal.

6 SOUTH AFRICAN MASTERS WATER POLO CHAMPIONSHIPS 2003

- 6.1 Alan Dando of South West Districts put a strong bid in for a tournament to be held at Knysna.
- 6.2 South West Districts felt that they had learnt a lot in hosting the last tournament at Knysna and advised that an increase in grandstand seats and shading would be a huge improvement to the enjoyment of the tournament by players and spectators alike.
- 6.3 They also advised that more games would be able to be accommodated in a single venue, insofar as 4 playing fields would be available in the yacht basin.
- 6.4 The water temperature was raised and considered to be a consideration.
- 6.5 Western Province also put in a bid to stage a 2003 South African Masters Tournament at Newlands in Cape Town.
- 6.6 It was felt by most provincial representatives that players would opt to go to Cape Town, opposed to Knysna, at this point in time.
- 6.7 West Province advised the meeting that the problem regarding the availability of the Newlands had not been solved, and there was a possibility that the pool would be closed to make way for a possible commercial development on the site.
- 6.8 It was then decided that the committee would be required to vote as to whether the 2003 tournament should be held in Knysna, or alternatively, should go to Knysna if Western Province were able to confirm by 1st October 2002, that they would be in a position to hold the tournament.
- 6.9 A vote of 8 to 2 by the provinces and committee, decided that the 2003 South African Masters Water Polo Tournament would be held in Cape Town. If however, they were unable to confirm by 1st October, 2002, the tournament would then move to Knysna.
- 6.10 Border advised the meeting they would be very keen to host the 2004 South African Masters Water Polo Tournament, as it coincided with other activities which would take place in East London at approximately the same time.

7. NOMINATIONS FOR NEW OFFICE BEARERS

- 7.1 It was noted by the meeting that the committee needed new blood and each province should try and encourage new provincial representatives.
- 7.2 The following members were elected:-

Neville Clarence - Chairman Ian van Zyl - Secretary Alan Dickie - Treasurer Central Gauteng Representative - To be co-opted by Neville Clarence

Eastern's Representative - Eddie Wepener

Northern's Representative - Neville Clarence agreed to approach Sean de

Jager to represent Northerns, as there was no person from Northerns attending the meeting.

Natal Representative - Paul Semple
South West Districts - Andrew Fisher
Western Province - Neville Davies
Eastern Province - John Whitehead
Border - Stan Fisher
Zimbabwe - Warrick Smith

7.3 Updated details of provincial representatives are attached hereto.

8. <u>AMENDMENT TO CONSTITUTION</u>

- 8.1 Neville Clarence proposed an amendment to the Constitution whereby the entry age is reduced to 25.
- 8.2 Neville motivated the proposed change with statistics indicating division of ages at the Nationals and how they would be affected in the future.
- 8.3 After lengthy discussion, the amendment was passed unanimously. Neville pointed out that future age groups could be set at over 25, over 35 and over 45, but that would be decided at a future meeting.

9. **GENERAL**

- 9.1 Costume awards as tabled.
- 9.2 The referee and disciplinary committee for this year's tournament was :-

John Catteral Paul Semple

N : 11 GI

Neville Clarence

9.3 The selectors of trophies for the over 30's was:-

Shaun Howard Colin Woodcock

9.4 The selectors of trophies for the over 40's was :-

John Wells

Mike Samuels

- 9.5 The incoming committee was to ensure that there would be more games played at Masters in the future.
- 9.6 The following comprised the trophy winners:_

Trophy	Section	<u>Winner</u>
Kenny McLean Spirit of Masters		Arthur Gower
Peter Louw Team Spirit		Easterns
Neville Clarence Trophy	Winners over 30's	Saints old boys
Des Foster Trophy	Winners over 40's	Veteran 70, split, Croatia
Paul Semple Trophy	Best player in over 30's	Joe Vipond
Terry Downes Trophy	Best player in over 40's	Radovan Mishkow
Alan Kaye Trophy	Best Goalie award over 30's	Marc Du Fey
Ronnie De Fin Trophy	Best Goalie aware over 40's	Pat Lennox
Paul Semple Walking Stick	Oldest Player at Tournament	Mally Richards

- 9.7 A further special award was made to Mally Richards aged 70 by Natal, the organising province.
- 9.8 Special thanks were extended to all players and representatives from all the provinces. Special T shirts were awarded to the following players for their huge commitment in making the Tournament a success:-

Croatian T shirts

Mike Samuels	Ian van Dongen
Sid Grey	Shaun Howard
Boydell Nortje	Keith Pearson
John Wells	Mark Evan
Colin Woodcock	John Cotterall
Gillian Robinson	Liz Woodcock
Chris Morris	Glyn Samuels
Paul Semple	Neville Clarence

- 9.9 A cheque for R5,000.00 was presented to the Kloof High School for their Australian tour, as a token of thanks for the outstanding work they did in running the tables.
- 9.10 Special mention and an award was made to Marilyn van Dongen in respect of the extra effort she made in making the tournament the huge success that it was.

10. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

10.1 The date of the next Annual General Meeting is to be arranged.

-5-		
11. <u>CLOSURE</u>		
11.1 There being no further busine	ess to discuss the meeting closed at 19h00.	
CHAIRMAN	DATE	