# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN MASTERS WATER POLO ASSOCIATION, HELD AT THE NEWLANDS POOL, CAPE TOWN, ON THURSDAY 19<sup>TH</sup> MARCH 2009

#### IN ATTENDANCE:

#### AS PER THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

#### 1. <u>WELCOME</u>

- 1.1 The Chairman, Mr Neville Clarence, welcomed all persons attending the Annual General Meeting.
- 1.2 A minutes silence was observed for dear waterpolo friends lost since the last AGM:
  - Jon Breetzke (Border)

#### 2. <u>APOLOGIES/ ATTENDANCE</u>

- 2.1 Gavin Robertson (Northerns). Carl Dyason stand-in.
- 2.2 Attendance was as per the attendance register attached hereto.

#### 3. <u>CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL</u> <u>MEETING DATED 3<sup>RD</sup> APRIL 2008</u>

3.1 There being no matters arising were proposed by Neville Davies from Western Province and seconded by Carl Dyason of Northerns.

#### 4. <u>PRESIDENT'S REPORT</u>

- 4.1 Neville Davies advised that the best keeper for 30+ section from 2008 was Matthew McGregor and not Michael Taylor.
- 4.2 Neville Clarence read out his report copy attached to minutes.
- 4.3 There being no matters arising acceptance was proposed by Neville Davies of Western Province and seconded by Carl Dyason of Northerns.

#### 5. <u>TREASURER'S REPORT</u>

- 5.1 Copies distributed via email, on the night as well as attached to minutes.
- 5.2 Neville Clarence presented the treasurer's report.
- 5.3 Annual subscriptions would remain at (Twenty Five Rand) R25.00 per head and all present agreed to this.

- 5.4 The financials are sound.
- 5.5 It was noted that each hosting province is to provide the necessary equipment to run the tournament.
- 5.6 There being no queries arising from the financials, acceptance was proposed by Carl Dyason of Northerns and seconded by Neville Davies of Western Province.

#### 6. <u>NOMINATIONS FOR NEW OFFICE BEARERS</u>

6.1 The following members were elected: -

Executive			
Neville Clarence	-	Chairman	
Ian van Zyl	-	Secretary	
Neville Clarence	-	Treasurer	
<u>Representatives</u>			
Central Gauteng	-	Rob Ter Morshuizen & Mike Renwick	
Western Province	-	Neville Davies & Brett Redelinghuys	
South Western Districts	-	Steve Douglas & Ian Hamilton	
Border	-	Andrew Reeves & Michael Ryan	
Eastern Province	-	Rob Rowles & Duncan Edwards	
Natal	-	Mike Samuel & Alan Gibb	
Northerns	-	Gavin Robertson & Carl Dyason	
Easterns	-	Chris Beale & Lynton Keel	
Zimbabwe	-	Rob Hammond & Warrick Smith	

6.2 Updated details of provincial representatives are attached hereto.

#### 7. <u>SOUTH AFRICAN MASTERS WATER POLO CHAMPIONSHIPS 2010</u>

- 7.1 Durban have provisionally agreed to host next years tournament but they need to confirm dates and availability of the pool.
- 7.2 Initial dates proposed will be 1 week later than the 2009 tournament thus  $26^{th} 28^{th}$  March 2010.
- 7.3 Mike Samuel to revert back to Neville Clarence by the end of April 2009.
- 7.4 East London and Knysna indicated that they would be prepared to step in to host the tournament if Durban was unable to do so.
- 7.5 When put to the vote, the alternative venue for 2010 was decided as follows:
  - East London 6 votes
  - Knysna 3 votes
- 7.6 Mike Renwick advised that Gauteng may have a potential venue for 2011 in St Benedicts and he would explore this option and advise the committee of the suitability and outcome.
- 7.7 Neville Clarence advised of the 2010 World Masters Water Polo tournament that is being held in Sweden.

- 7.8 Peter Lavet of KZN (a Swedish citizen) gave a short presentation of the event to be held in August 2010.
- 7.9 Interested parties are to make contact with Neville Clarence 083-268-7344 or <u>Neville.clarence@wyndev.co.za</u>

## 8. <u>GENERAL</u>

- 8.1 Neville Clarence proposed an amendment to the constitution Addendum A.
- 8.1.1 This was circulated via email as well as copies provided on the night of the AGM
- 8.1.2 Point #5

Teams who have less than 9 players may borrow from another team in the same age group.

8.1.2.1 Wording to be changed to:

Teams who have less than 9 players may borrow from another Team, provided that the borrowed players are from the same age group, and are of the age in said group.

8.1.3 Point #6

No team may borrow players at all if they already have 9 fit and able players.

- 8.1.3.1 It was suggested and agreed that the word "*already*" be removed from the sentence.
- 8.1.3.2 New wording would thus be:

No team may borrow players at all if they have 9 fit and able players.

8.1.4 An addition to be included in the amendment :

No player may enter in two or more different teams.

- 8.1.5 An updated copy of this Addendum will be circulated with these minutes along with a copy of the constitution.
- 8.2 The amendments referred to above in 8.1.2, 8.1.3 and 8.1.4 were unanimously approved, and are to be effective immediately.
- 8.3 The disciplinary committee would consist of:
  - The provincial representative(s) of the player(s) involved
  - The chairman of SA Masters Water Polo
  - Representative from the host province WP (Brett Redelinghuys)
  - The referee(s) from the game concerned
- 8.4 The "*Memorial Shield*" of deceased players was updated and will be on display at all future tournaments.
- 8.4.1 Neville Clarence will arrange for updates to the shield of deceased Masters Water Polo players.

- 8.5 A new trophy would come into effect at the 2009 tournament: The Jon Breetzke Floating Trophy for the best defender in the 30+ division at the annual tournament.
- 8.5.1 This trophy will be donated by Border Masters Water Polo in memory of the late Jon Breetzke and it is only applicable to the 30+ division.
- 8.6 Trophy winners see attached schedule.

# 9. <u>DATE OF NEXT MEETING</u>

9.1 The date of the next Annual General Meeting is to be arranged.

## 10. <u>CLOSURE</u>

10.1 There being no further business to discuss the meeting closed at 19h00.

CHAIRMAN

DATE

Attendance Register:

Chairman	Neville Clarence	Present	Neville.clarence@wyndev.co.za
Secretary	Ian van Zyl	Present	ianvanzyl@telkomsa.net
Finance	Neville Clarence	Present	Neville.clarence@wyndev.co.za
Border	Michael Ryan Andrew Reeves Paul Reeves	Present Present Present	<u>michaelr@kempston.co.za</u> andrew@reevesgroup.co.za
Central Gauteng	Rob Ter Morshuizen	Apologies	rob.tmorshuizen@aig.com
	Mike Renwick	Present	renwickm@aforbes.co.za
Eastern Province	Rob Rowles P. Goosen	Present Present	rowless@arhs.ecape.school.za
Easterns	Chris Beale	Present	<u>cbeale@telkomsa.net</u>
	Lynton Keel	Present	lynton@ekacc.co.za
Natal	Mike Samuel Alan Gibb Peter Lavett Paul Judkins	Present Present Present Present	samuel@iafrica.com gibb@netsolutions.co.za peterlavett@boe.co.za
Northerns	Gavin Robertson Carl Dyason Charlie Westdyk	Apologies Present Present	<u>gavin@dynatraining.co.za</u> <u>dgmconsult@lantic.net</u>
SWD	Steve Douglas	Present	<u>info@waterpolosa.com</u>
	Philip Swart	Absent	philips@elsenburg.com
Western Province	Neville Davies	Present	<u>nevdav@mweb.co.za</u>
	Brett Redelinghuys	Present	<u>brettred@gmail.com</u>
Zimbabwe	Rob Hammond	Present	<u>robh@vision.co.zw</u>
	Warrick Smith	Present	smithw@valleyzim.co.zw

Errors in transcribing the above attributed to *Barley, Hops & Friends*